Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on Youtube Join the Archive Mailing List Read our Blog

Made possible by the John H. Mitchell Television Programming Endowment

Archive Television Treasures

John Cassavates in a nighttime city scene.


The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds one of the largest archival television collections in the U.S., with over 170,000 holdings documenting the entire course of American broadcast history, from the late 1940s to the present. This ongoing series draws from this vast repository of 35mm prints, 16mm kinescopes and 2 in. videotapes to highlight rare and unjustly forgotten titles alongside popular and important landmarks of the medium.

Programs & Events

Image Title Date and Time Location
John Coltrane playing the saxophone.

Jazz Casual: Dizzy Gillespie, Sonny Rollins & John Coltrane on 1960s TV

July 21, 2024 - 7:00 pm Billy Wilder Theater

Past Programs & Events

Title Date and Time Location
Actor Ralph Fiennes as a game show contestant.

Small Screen/Big Screen: Quiz Show and Twenty-One

Saturday, June 1, 2024 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
A news anchor smoking, with two TV monitors behind him.

Small Screen/Big Screen: Good Night, and Good Luck and See It Now

Saturday, May 18, 2024 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
A man and a woman standing in a subway car.

A Tribute to Director Robert Butler: Night of the Juggler

Sunday, April 14, 2024 - 7:00 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Two police officers sitting in a car.

From Batman to Hill Street Blues: A Tribute to Director Robert Butler

Saturday, April 13, 2024 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Isaac Hayes and James Garner.

The Rockford Files: Isaac Hayes “Gandy and Rockfish” Trilogy

Saturday, March 23, 2024 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Milton Berle posing with an NCB Color Television camera.

Preserving Historic Color Videotape: Mr. Television (a.k.a. Milton Berle) and Friends

Saturday, February 24, 2024 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Alfred Hitchcock holding a noose to his face.

“Good Evening”: Alfred Hitchcock on Television

Saturday, January 20, 2024 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Actor Peter Sellers with a grim expression, wearing a hat decorated with the word "ME."

Rod Serling’s Nuclear Nightmare: Carol for Another Christmas

Saturday, December 16, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Actors Cicely Tyson and George C. Scott.

East Side/West Side: “Who Do You Kill?”

Saturday, November 18, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Three men talking in a city street.

Noir Television: Naked City

Sunday, October 15, 2023 - 7:00 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Anne Francis driving and holding a phone.

Honey West: TV Private Eye ’65

Saturday, August 26, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Ernie Kovacs

Ernie Kovacs: Television of the Absurd

Saturday, July 22, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Ida Lupino

Directed by Ida Lupino: Macabre Television

Saturday, June 24, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
The Outer Limits

We Are Controlling Transmission: The Outer Limits

Saturday, March 18, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Bruce Lee

Bruce Lee: “The Way of the Intercepting Fist”

Saturday, February 25, 2023 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Two men in prison.

Lost African American TV: Robert L. Goodwin’s “The Upper Chamber”

Saturday, November 19, 2022 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
A group in a hot air balloon.

Psychedelic TV: Musical Variety in the Age of Aquarius

Saturday, October 1, 2022 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
A man walking along a train.

Tell It Like It Is: The Watts Writers Workshop on Television

Sunday, July 10, 2022 - 7:00 pm Billy Wilder Theater
The Nelson family.

The Adventures of Ozzie & Harriet—70th Anniversary Celebration

Sunday, June 12, 2022 - 7:00 pm Billy Wilder Theater
John Cassavetes in a night street scene.

Noir Television: “Johnny Staccato—Directed by John Cassavetes”

Sunday, April 24, 2022 - 7:00 pm Billy Wilder Theater
Johnny Carson

14th Primetime Emmy Awards—60th Anniversary Screening!

Saturday, March 19, 2022 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater
The Chevy Mystery Show

Brought to You in Living Color: The Chevy Mystery Show

Friday, February 25, 2022 - 7:30 pm Billy Wilder Theater