Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch us on Youtube Join the Archive Mailing List Read our Blog

To Each His Own (1946); No Time For Love (1943)

To Each His Own (1946)
December 16, 2012 - 7:00 pm

To Each His Own (1946)

Directed by Mitchell Leisen

Olivia de Havilland won her first Academy Award in Leisen’s groundbreaking melodrama about an unwed mother’s emotional journey. Young Jody Norris meets a departing serviceman in wartime. Emotionally drawn together, they share a passionate night. But Jody is left pregnant and alone when her lover is killed in battle, and she gives up her child. Meeting him years later, she longs to identify herself but is constrained by her secret sorrow. A timely story that many Americans must have lived during World War II, the film is striking for its frankness and the dignity it affords its characters.

Paramount Pictures. Producer: Charles Brackett. Screenwriter: Charles Brackett, Jacques Théry. Cinematographer: Daniel L. Fapp. Editor: Alma Macrorie. Cast: Olivia de Havilland, Mary Anderson, Roland Culver.

35mm, b/w, 122 min. 

No Time For Love (1943)

"...a first-class example of the inconsequential put to highly diverting use." - The New York Times

Directed by Mitchell Leisen. 

The full range of Mitchell Leisen’s visual power is on display here from the mud-and-muck realism of the underwater tunnel where Fred MacMurray’s sand hog toils to the dizzyingly surreal dream sequence that animate the sexual frustrations of Claudette Colbert’s photojournalist after she meets MacMurray on assignment. Class and gender roles take a licking in Charles Binyon’s breezy script while Leisen again proves his facility for putting desire on screen.

Paramount Pictures, Inc. Producer: B.G. DeSlyva. Screenwriter: Claude Binyon. Cinematographer: Charles Lang. Editor: Alma Macrorie. Cast: Claudette Colbert, Fred MacMurray, Ilka Chase, Richard Haydn, Paul McGrath.

35mm, b/w, 94 min.